Fibromyalgia and my cat Charlie


Okay, I am not sure how many folks on here have fibromyalgia, but I decided to share my FM experiences in hopes I can be of some help to others who suffer from this. I take Lyrica now to help. It is the only prescription drug approved for FM pain…the Lyrica helped alot at first, but I think my body builds up an intolerance to it…my dr has increased the dosage twice and each time, I have relief for a couple weeks, then it hits me again. Well this past week of almost NO pain for 7 days straight was a TRUE BLESSING. It’s the first time I’ve had this much relief without an increase in lyrica being the cause. I felt so good that I had really forgotten what a flare up is like until last night…

Well last night, the pain started coming back. First, it felt like I had sprained my ankle even though I knew I hadn’t…then the pain was also in my knee of same leg…I was limping and could hardly move my ankle…I propped it up, but it was just throbbing, just worse by the minute…I took pain med (1st time in 7 days! woohoo), but within an hour, the pain just swept over me in waves, all over, back, shoulders, arms, legs, feet…and even my face…I realized (duh) I was in a fibromyalgia flare up…I just could not get relief…my hubby came in at about 4:30 am (night shift) and I was propped up on the couch just not knowing what to do. He rubbed my arms for me, which I must say this was very out of the ordinary for him to do this because he does NOT give massages, absolutely hates to…but he did it because I was so bad. I was so greatful for his attention to me. It made me feel good inside. I told him I guess there was going to be a major storm because my storm detector had just started its warning signal…he said it was lightning the whole drive home…Sure enough on the Weather Channel, the barometric pressure was dropping…that seems to be my BIGGEST trigger. My hubby got my “Bio-Freeze” for me…it is good for sore muscles…you can buy it at any physical therapy office…mostly menthol, so very good product and not damaging in any way. It is available in a roll-on which I LOVE b/c I can reach areas on my back w/o straining or getting someone else to do it for me…well I was still in awful pain. I can take up to 2 pain pills, but I already had severe heartburn from the first one I had taken, so I really didnt want to take a 2nd one…so then I remembered I hadnt taken a muscle relaxer in awhile b/c I hadnt been in pain for a week…so I took one of those. Finally about an hour later I fell asleep and didnt wake up till about 6 pm this evening.

I had mentioned in earlier blog that my orange tabby cat Charlie is a “cat healer”, he senses where the pain is and lays over the worst places…WELL when I woke up, I was on my side and he was stretched out to his full length laying against my entire back! He is such an amazing cat. He knew my back hurt!!! It’s almost uncanny, though…LOL. I know God paved the way for this cat to be in our household because He knew I’d need him!

This is Charlie not looking too wise!Ā 

RELIEF…the pain has subsided.

THANKS TO THE LORD!!!!

Little Tidbits of My Life

5 thoughts on “Fibromyalgia and my cat Charlie

  1. I am so sorry to hear about the pain you are in. My mother was recently diagnosed with it. I do not know much about it yet, just the amount of pain she is in. I am curious, do you have days when you are also extremely tired and sleep for 12 hour intervals?
    On another note…Your cat Charlie, looks just like my cat Charlie!!!!
    You can check my pictures on my blog to compare. All too funny. I am going to show my children after I finish this here. Our Charlie brings us much joy!
    Wishing you relief!

    Jennifer

  2. Oh, I understand…
    I also have Fibromyagia, (though it's not the only thing going on). Weather definitely plays a role in my suffering as well. You know, my cat, Charlotte senses when I am hurting and lays on me. Animals are such a comfort. šŸ™‚

    Amy

  3. I LOVED your video of Charlie, thanks for sharing. I'm so sorry that you have to deal with fibromyalgia. My younger sister does also, and it is a major part of her life. She's just decided to cut gluten entirely out of her diet to see if it might be making hers flare up. She hasn't entirely cut it out yet, as there are tiny amounts of gluten in all kinds of things (salad dressings, soy sauce), but she's working hard to give this a try. If she finds that it helps I will let you know!

    Blessings,
    April

  4. Aren't animals fabulous?! I'm so glad you have an animal that offers some relief. Anyway, I'm curious…I had a friend a few years back diagnosed with fibromyalgia. She, unfortunately, didn't have the strength of character to deal with it and turned back to a world of cocaine and heron. She has since died of a drug overdose…sad story…Her mother and I had just started researching ways to attack fibromyalgia naturally since nothing else was working. I stopped my meager research. I wish I had continued.
    Anyway, I'm curious as to what you have tried holistically or naturally. From what I can remember, there is some pretty strong arguments for high levels of toxins or food allergies in the body that may be a huge contributing factor. The way I figure it, getting a thorough cleaning out and getting food allergy tested certainly can't hurt worse, right? I hope you are able to find some relief. Chronic pain is no laughing matter.
    Many Blessings,
    Holly
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/aiminghigh

Leave a Reply

