New York Cheesecake


New York Cheesecake anyone???

This is my New York Cheesecake. Pictured above includes a chocolate drizzle (of which I will include the recipe below). Pictured below includes a caramel sauce drizzle. The caramel sauce is WONDERFUL, but I actually bought the caramel sauce at “Fresh Market” in town. I sometimes make my own, though.  

Note, the following recipes can be used for the largest springform pan of the Wilton 3-pan set…OR one recipe is enough for two cheesecakes when using the small and medium pans. I prefer to make the two small/medium sizes because it seems to have less tendancy to crack and my hubby and I can taste-test the small one and take the medium one to family gathering, etc.

NOTE: I have a gas oven, so instructions given are based on my oven being propane heated. I try to differentiate where applicable.

First Recipe:

Graham Cracker Crust:

1 1/2 packs graham crackers crushed. I buy Original Honey Grahams and I crush them in a gallon size freezer bag.

8 TBS butter, melted

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in bag. Before pressing the mixed ingredients into springform pan(s), spread butter liberally around bottom and sides of springform pan. Now pour the graham cracker mixture into pan and press firmly in bottom and up one inch on the sides of the pan(s). Place springform pan onto a cookie sheet and set aside.

Next Recipe:

New York Cheesecake filling – Preheat oven to 475 degrees

5 (8 oz) pkgs cream cheese softened to room temperature

1 3/4 cups sugar

3 TBS all-purpose flour

1/4 cup liquid – either half pulp-free orange juice and half lemon juice for traditional flavor…or half key lime juice and half lemon juice for key lime version…proportion not important, as long as it equals 1/4 cup total. I just pour mine into a 1/4 measure cup

NOTE: alternate to liquid above is finely grated zest of 1 orange or lemon…I’ve never tried it this way

5 large eggs

2 large egg yolks

1 tsp vanilla

Beat cream cheese and sugar, then add flour and liquid until smooth. Add eggs and yolks, one at a time, then vanilla – beating on low speed to prevent bubbles. Pour filling into prepared crust(s) (recipe above). Bake on baking sheet on top oven rack (works best in my gas oven, you may want to put in middle for conventional oven??) Bake at 475 degrees for 10 minutes, then reduce temperature to 325 degrees (this is lowest setting my gas oven will go before flickering and flame goes out…can cook at 250 degrees in conventional oven)…and continue baking until cake is mostly firm. The center will be slightly wobbly. Based on my gas oven, I bake smallest pan for 1 hour…medium pan 1 hour 10 min…large pan 1 hour 20 min.

NOTE: to help prevent cracking, I always put a pan half full of water on the oven rack below the cake (as shown in picture above) and keep it in there during the entire baking process. ALSO, as soon as I take cheesecake(s) out of oven, I dip a knife in very hot water and gently run it around edge of cheesecake to further reduce cracking. Cheesecake will flatten as it cools.

Cool cake completely in springform pan. Add optional topping (recipe follows). 

Chill cake, loosely covered at least 6 hours.

 

Chocolate Glaze for Cheesecake

4 oz heavy whipping cream

8 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Bring cream to a boil in heavy saucepan on medium to low heat. Remove from heat and immediately stir in chips and vanilla. Stir until smooth. Pour over cake.

NOTE: If out of heavy whipping cream, I sometimes substitute 1/8 cup sweetened condensed milk plus 1/8 cup regular milk. I whip the two milks together, then I heat it same as above…

2 thoughts on “New York Cheesecake

  1. These are gorgeous. They look like those gorgeous ones I see at the bakery and drool over. Thank you SOOOOO much for the recipe. Now, I have to buy a springform pan and try this!!! Caramel! YUMMO!

    God's Blessings,
    Amy Jo

Leave a Reply

