"Beaches" Inspiration for New Quilt


Beaches

Beaches

Beaches Painting

The painting above was my mother-in-law Freda’s painting and is now mine. The bed is full size if that gives you an idea of how large the painting is.

As you know if you have kept up with my blog, my husband’s mother passed away the day after Christmas. Her absolute favorite vacation spot was the beach. She had planned a trip with my hubby, my father-in-law and myself to go to Orange Beach for the weekend of New Years because I had never gotten to go to the beach with her. However, due to the injury she received to her shoulder on December 10, we had to cancel our vacation plans. Instead, she had to schedule torn rotator cuff repair surgery. Complications after the surgery led to her death combined with her sleep apnea problems. We never even got to say goodbye. It was all quite sudden AND shocking. Even today as I type this it is hard to comprehend she passed away almost 6 months ago. I miss her every single day.

Freda had started redecorating the master bedroom and bathroom of her house in the past couple years with the beach scene in mind. Her bathroom is beautiful and she already finished renovating it, but she had never finished the bedroom.

Freda did, however purchase a painting to go in her room once it was finished. With that in mind, I had secretly purchased some toile machine embroidery designs of seashells thinking I would surprise her and make her a quilt to match her beautiful painting. I had made her a quilt before (the one featured in my banner is the quilt I made her), but this one was going to be extra special because of the beach theme.

Due to my health issues and also because of the things going on in both our lives, neither of us ever got our projects started. The BEACHES painting (pictured at beginning of blog entry) is my inspiration to make a quilt in memory of my dear mother-in-law. I want to hang the painting above the bed and use the quilt on the bed.

Can you see my silly cat Pumpkin in the picture? She literally jumped up there just because I got out the camera! I could NOT get her to move, so I figured it made for a cuter pic, anyway. She LOVES the camera.

I am truly inspired when I look at the Beaches picture. Something about it calms me and brings me peace and reminds me where my mother-in-law now is, safe in the arms of Jesus.

Beach and Seashell project supplies

Beach and Seashell project supplies

seashells

Seashells

I had also bought some seashells one Christmas for Freda to use in decorating once she finished this room. At first, I thought about doing a shadow box with them, but after a trip to Walmart, I was inspired by these plates I found. I have posted pics here of the project supplies above and below, but keep in mind I plan to do something to make it look quite different as the final outcome. I will also post pics of the final project when completed.

My idea is to paint the outer border of each plate a hint of blue, then gradually fade between the blue to a white, then back to the tan…not sure yet, but I will definitely tape off a square for the center, then put real sand in the middle for texture AND looks on top of a glue base to anchor it into place. I will then glue three seashells on each plate. I originally purchased two plates, but now that I have laid out all the shells, I realized I need one more plate. I will put these on the side wall by the bed in the beach themed bedroom.

First Seashell plate collage

First Seashell plate collage

Second Seashell plate collage

Second Seashell plate collage

Third Seashell Collage

Third Seashell plate collage

I put the remaining seashells in two bowls to be displayed on a bookcase. I am SO LOOKING FORWARD to being able to make this quilt. I pray I can!!!

I looked at shadow boxes online for beach themes and they are about $170 each! CRAZY when it is so simple to come up with a design as an original. I am so glad I decided to go with my own idea. I think I like the plate idea better, anyway.

The curtains in this room are tan and have the huge wide open circle rivets and chrome colored curtain rod, so will match quite well with the breezy look of a beach themed room.

I now pray that my health will be restored enough that I can START and COMPLETE this beach quilt task soon. Feel free to pray this on my behalf, as well.

MRI RESULTS UPDATE

I had an MRI this week on my back because I am in such pain between shoulder blades and throughout ribs that just lifting my purse brings great distress. It also brings laughs because my father-in-law or hubby now carries it around for me! BUT this is not what I want. I want to be able to carry my purse myself.

The internist had told me I would get one of two possible outcomes from MRI. He said either I would have a bulging disk which would mean injections and likely inevitably surgery OR if normal MRI, then fibromyalgia flareup would be the culprit and nothing really to be done other than what is currently being done, I could continue with chiropractic care and meds. I have been going to a chiropractor because of the falls I had over the past few months that jarred my back. He has not been able to work on my mid-back area in weeks due to the severity of my pain.

When I went to the chiropractor today, we decided to call the doctor’s office to see if the results were back yet. I was not able to get the results, so he just worked on my neck. However, the nurse called me late this evening and told me the MRI is normal, but my doctor is on vacation and cannot sign off on it to send to my chiropractor until next week. I can still unofficially let him know, though. With the results of the MRI being normal, now I am faced with a dilemma of wondering if getting chiropractic care is actually causing the flareups, or if I should tough it out and continue to let him try to adjust my back. My chiropractor is conservative in his approach and only does what he thinks I can handle. It is just a fine line and if crossed makes for a bad week. I am in no better shape now that he has stopped adjusting me, so I am just in a “pickle”.

Maybe I should sit out a “donation jar” for prayer (instead of money!). Prayer please! Prayer please! Poor sickly one needing prayer! I would say I’d work for prayer, but I’m disabled. lol I’m just useless except I can pray for you, too, so I’m NOT REALLY USELESS!

I hope you are NOT in back pain and are having a much better day physically than I am! God is always good and I know there is a reason for this dilemma.

At least I am getting inspirational ideas again, which is a very good thing indeed!

UPDATE Year 2015

This is the finished quilt on display at a local quilt show earlier this year…

image

Little tidbits of my life,

Teresa

5 thoughts on “"Beaches" Inspiration for New Quilt

  1. oh my Teresa I just can not believe the pain and suffering you go through~~ but know I will be praying for you not only that the pain will quit but that you will be able to start and finish the beach theme plates and quilt that you would love to do. What a wonderful idea. Good for you and hooray Teresa is going to sew! I can hardly wait to see the quilt. You are amazing! love Roxanne

  2. Pingback: » Seashells Decor FINISHED! YAY Little tidbits of my life

  3. So sorry and I will pray for recovery .It surely takes ones
    strength away to be in such pain . Love you ideas of beach theme.
    May the Lord Bless You and relieve the pain and restore your health . Love you Lots “IN CHRIST” Lorena

Leave a Reply

